Russia vs Spain will open Water Polo World Cup

FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup will take place on September 04-09 in Surgut, Russia at a new sport complex “Olymp” with 50m swimming-pool.

Eight strongest teams from USA, Spain, Canada, Australia, South Africa, China, New Zealand and Russia will compete for the main trophy. World Cup will consist of 24 games – 12 in a group stage and 12 in play-off. Russian team is in the same group with Spain, Australia and China. The opening match – Russia vs Spain – will take place upon the end of the opening ceremony, that will be conducted at 7 p.m. on September’04. The competition day will start earlier – at 2:30 p.m.

Each competition day 4 games will be played: at 3 p.m., 4:30 p.m., 6:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m., only on the first day of the event they will start 30 minutes earlier.

FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup is held since 1979. Until 1999 the competitions were taking place every two years, starting from 2002 it is conducted once in a four-year period. For the first time in history Russia hosted Women’s Water Polo World Cup in 2014. The competitions were held in Khanty-Mansiysk, Ugra. So, our region will be the host of the event for the second time in a row.

Taking about the success of Russian women’s water polo team, it is worth noting that our athletes are two-time medalists of the event – in 2006 they won bronze in Tianjin, China and in 1997 became silver medalists in Nancy, France. Still at the moment Russia never won FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup. The last two tournaments were won by USA team.